How to make a beef pot roast in a Crock Pot!

Here’s how I make my roast in a crockpot (otherwise known as a slow cooker)…with a short disclaimer. I typically would be using 1 lb of carrots and about 4-5 potatoes cut up in the Crock Pot with my roast. This particular time; though, I used a full 2 lbs of carrots and did the potatoes on the stove to make mashed potatoes. You may also add an onion, cut into wedges or pearl onions-we just don’t care for chunks of onion in our food.

So let’s get started.
In my previous post, you saw how I peel my carrots (and potatoes are done the same way), so we’ll start with my already peeled carrots:
Photobucket
Cut once, and lined up for the next cut.

Photobucket
Each carrot is cut into thirds. I do this because I’m going to be cooking this low and slow for a long time, and I don’t want mushy little carrot coins when the roast is done cooking! You can do any shape you’d like, really, I just find this easier than making a million cuts. Just remember the smaller the piece of food, the faster it cooks, and the larger it is, the longer it will take to cook.

Photobucket
My 2 lbs of carrots in the crock pot.

Photobucket
I mix up a spice blend, b/c I like to rub it into the roast before searing. *Note: That was the closest recipe I could find to what I use for a spice rub. Searing is entirely optional, by the way. It’s something I do, lots of people don’t and if you don’t want to, you can just skip the whole searing section of this post.

The roast after the spices have been rubbed on:
Photobucket

Next, I put a touch of olive oil (or regular oil is fine, too) in a pan and turn it on medium-high heat. Once the pan is hot, but not quite smoking, I put the roast in the pan, and sear the roast for 30 seconds on each side. Just long enough to get a nice brown coat on it.
Photobucket

The roast in the crock pot with the carrots (this would be the time to add those onions and potatoes-cut into quarters):
Photobucket

Next, I simply add enough beef broth and water to cover the roast and veggies (2-3 cups of broth, 2-3 cups of water), and add whatever spices sound good (onion powder, garlic powder, seasoning salt, pepper, Italian seasoning  a touch of cayenne):
Photobucket

And put the lid on, turning the Crock Pot on low. It will cook for 10 to 12 hours on low. You can usually go ahead and eat it in 8 if you need to, but the longer you cook it the more tender it will become.
Photobucket

There is no need to stir…that’s the beauty of a slow cooker!

Once the roast is done, you can take out your carrots (and onions and potatoes) and put them in separate bowls:
Photobucket

Take your roast out and put it on a platter:
Photobucket

Now would be the time to use the broth/juices in the crock pot to make gravy if that is your desire. I’m sorry I don’t have a tutorial on the gravy just yet, but it’s coming.

And finally, serve to your happy family!
Photobucket

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2009/09/24/how-to-make-a-beef-pot-roast-in-a-crock-pot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Some of your pictures are really blurry…usually it’s a case of not allowing the camera enough time to focus. Hope that helps!

  2. I really like this, I am excited to try it. I am new at crock-pot usage, this will actually be a second time, but a first time for roast. The step-by-step pictures are very helpful! Thank you!

  3. Hi,

    I have a question about hosting a giveaway/sweepstakes on your blog. Please shoot me an email so I can give you the details.

    Thanks,
    Sabrina
    smola@care.com

  4. Looks delish…..I have never done a pot raost dinner in the crock. But I am going to try this one dear.
    Blessings, GG

  5. Great article. If I might also add. Avoid checking
    on your stocks every day. Making wise stock market investments not only requires company research, it also requires
    you to maintain a good degree of emotional distance.
    By nature, the stock market moves up and down. If you let
    yourself get caught up in every rise and fall, you will soon become
    emotionally exhausted. Additionally, investing for the long run will bring
    more rewards than short-term strategies or day trading, unless you are a very
    experienced stock trader.

  6. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It’s always helpful to read through articles from other writers and practice something from their web sites.

  7. Three day cooking classes encompass specific themes and provide students
    with sixteen hours of food preparation. The Nu – Wave Oven is a countertop oven that uses infrared technologies to
    cook the meals. If you want crunchy restaurant style green beans then this
    guide is not for you.

  8. Once the terminal validates the card the customer simply has to sign the receipt for the sale to be completed.
    As a result of this many banks may not take the risk of providing credit card merchant account for such business.
    Make effective and successful New Year financial resolutions by making them easy, achievable and arming yourself with the right tools and resources.

  9. All the time follow your heart

  10. Help for such an emergency is available on weekends, late at
    night and Sunday afternoons. The good news is that a VPN (virtualprivate network) makes it completely possible to get the Hulu contentand at a reasonable price.
    As an example of the annual energy savings that can be achieved by a higher SEER replacement
    whole house air conditioner consider a case where your present air
    conditioner has a SEER of 8.

  11. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think
    that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is magnificent blog.
    An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  12. I drop a comment when I like a post on a site or I have something
    to contribute to the discussion. Usually it is a result of the
    passion displayed in the post I browsed. And on this article
    How to make a beef pot roast in a Crock
    Pot! | HomemadeWithLove’s Weblog. I was moved enough to drop a thought 😉 I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s okay.

    Could it be simply me or do some of these comments
    come across like coming from brain dead folks?
    😛 And, if you are posting at other places, I’d like to follow everything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list every one of your community pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  13. I really like your blog.. very nice colors &
    theme. Did you make this website yourself or did
    you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond
    as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. kudos

  14. Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your blog site in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has
    some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick
    heads up! Other then that, awesome blog!

  15. Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer,
    it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you
    a quick heads up! Other then that, superb blog!

  16. What i do not understood is in truth how you’re not really a lot more neatly-appreciated than you may be
    right now. You’re so intelligent. You know thus significantly when it comes to
    this topic, produced me personally imagine it
    from a lot of various angles. Its like women and men aren’t involved
    except it is one thing to accomplish with Girl
    gaga! Your personal stuffs great. At all times care
    for it up!


Leave a Reply

