Simple Homemade Granola Recipe

Tonight I realized I hadn’t prepared anything for church tomorrow, and didn’t have much time to make anything, either. Every Sunday, I make something homemade and yummy for that awkward time between services. We are a small church, newly started, and because of that, they hadn’t instituted any kind of “coffee hour” or “snack time” between Sunday School and Church, so I volunteered to get it started. I usually make doughnuts or coffee cake, cinnamon rolls or streudel, but this time I got all busy with Christmas stuff that I plum forgot. Thankfully, I have a great recipe from the old http://www.hillbillyhousewife.com, that I’ve affectionately named “Maggie’s Homemade Granola”. I like this granola recipe because it’s easy, fast, tasty, and cheap. Well, that and it doesn’t have all kinds of nuts and honey and other typical ingredients in granola, so it’s more allergen-friendly than most granolas. Without further ado, here’s Maggie’s granola recipe:

1/2 c. margarine (1 stick)
1 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. water
1/4 tsp. salt
4 cups rolled oats
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 c. dried fruit (optional, but I use Craisins-dried cranberries)
1/2 c. nuts or seeds (optional, I usually skip)

In a large 4 qt. saucepan, melt the margarine, sugar, and water together. Simmer 2-3 minutes. Take off of heat and add the oatmeal, cinnamon, and salt. Stir up the granola making sure that every piece of oatmeal is coated in brown sugary goodness. Put the granola on a large sided cookie sheet and bake at 375 for 10 minutes. It should be a nice golden brown. Allow to cool on cookie sheet. Once cooled, you can break the granola apart with spoon or your (clean) fingers, and place in a clean coffee can or jar. If adding optional nuts and/or fruit, you can mix those in just before placing granola in its container.

This is a GREAT snack, but also a pretty decent cereal. As someone who doesn’t really care for oatmeal and wouldn’t touch grapenuts if I were paid to, I really do promise this is a good cereal. If you have any trouble passing it off on the kiddos as a real cereal in the morning, you can always add chocolate chips, but this is just sweet enough that most kids will gobble it up, especially if you’ve put a sweet dried fruit in it for color.

Photobucket

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2008/12/21/simple-homemade-granola-recipe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Don’t you just love Hillbilly Housewife? I go there all the time for recipes.
    Glad to see you are back on line, my friend. Praying for you guys as always.

  2. Thanks so much, we’re always thinking of and prayin’ for y’all, too! Yeah, I do love hillbilly housewife, even though it’s changed owners. The original owner, Maggie, was also the lady who started the conservative Christian forum I moderate. I expect that a lot of people will be seeking out her website if the economy continues on its current path. What a resource, huh? You know she has a new website, now, right? It’s http://frugalabundance.com/ You should check it out, too! If I don’t talk to you before, have a very blessed Christmas!

  3. […] Simple Homemade Granola Recipe […]

  4. What is the conservative Christian forum if I may ask?


Leave a Reply

