Homemade Blackberry Jam and Lazy Chocolate Pie

Sometimes I feel like I’m an oxymoron. In one day I may make something totally from scratch and time consuming and also make instant mashed potatoes, lol. I’m just weird like that. I love convenience, but recognize that homemade is better. I think it is because of this that somedays I’m so tired from making something very labor intensive and time consuming that I settle for whatever is the quickest and easiest option for dinner that night. Today was just such a day.

I spent my day today making homemade blackberry jam, canning it, making 2 loaves of wheat bread for a customer,  and making homemade mixes for gifts (which included decorating the bags by hand using scrapbooking supplies). By the time my poor husband came through the door, I realized I made nothing for dessert. Sure, I had cheated and used the crockpot and canned veggies for dinner, so that was ready, but I had to scramble to make instant potatoes and a dessert. Checking the pantry and freezer, I realized I could make a lazy chocolate pie in about 15 minutes, so I went for it.

Lazy Chocolate Pie

1 Pre-formed pie crust or graham cracker crust

2 pkgs. Devils Food pudding mix (or chocolate)

2 2/3 milk

1 carton Cool Whip or other whipped cream

Some Chocolate chips for decorating

Blind-bake crust as per directions, combine pudding mix and milk, beating with whisk for 2 minutes. Pour pudding into cooled crust. Put whip cream on top of pudding, and sprinkle chocolate chips for decoration. Done. Now wasn’t that easy?

Photobucket

Here’s a pic of my blackberry jam:
Photobucket

And finally, a pic of some of my homemade mixes/food items:
Photobucket

Now it’s time for me to go to bed and get ready to do it all over again tomorrow, lol.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2008/12/19/homemade-blackberry-jam-and-lazy-chocolate-pie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. the mixes are a great idea and so pretty! On the jam, is that what we call ‘briar berry’ jam? If so, are your’s real seedy? Ours here in Florida have a lot of seeds and to make the jelly (I don’t think we can make jam out of them) we have to cook the berries and then squeeze them out in a cheese cloth so that we end up with just the juice. Yours looks really nice and I was wondering about the seeds.
    Regina @ skeeter creek

  2. I’m not sure if it’s the same, but I bet it’s in the same family of berries. Blackberries are closely related to raspberries, often called black raspberries.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blackberry

    Yeah, blackberry jam is typically seedy, but what I do is take 1/4 to 1/2 of the mixture and press it through a sieve (no cheesecloth, just the sieve), and what is left after I’ve got the moisture out, I toss in the trash, b/c it’s only seeds and pulp. So basically, the only way to make non-super seedy jam is to take 1/2 the mixture and de-seed it, but leave the other 1/2 untouched. That way you get some seeds and pulp, making it still a jam, but you have less seeds per capita in your jam. You might try that with your briar berries.

    By the way, we live in the city, so I don’t have the ability to grow my own right now, and I usually cheat this time of year and buy frozen berries for my jam. It’s the best way to get quality berries at the wrong time of year, and I always put off my jam-making till December, lol.

  3. Malik…

    kinda makes you wonder….


Leave a Reply

