Easy Homemade Biscotti Recipe

Okay,  I admit it, I’m a coffee nut, but I hate biscotti. Well, until today that is!

I needed to make some to go in Christmas baskets along with some homemade creamers and other goodies, and my first attempt went really well.  I took one recipe and made it into two kinds. One was Double Chocolate, and the other was Cranberry Almond. I have to say, both are good, but the cranberry is the BEST!

Here’s a pic of the dough, both kinds:

Double Chocolate
Photobucket

Cranberry Almond
Photobucket

And the finished products:
Double Chocolate
Photobucket

Cranberry Almond
Photobucket

Here’s the recipe, with changes below:

Italian Biscotti

  • 12 ounces butter
  • 1 3/4 cups white sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon anise extract
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 6 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 8 ounces chopped almonds
    1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F ( 165 degrees C ).
    2. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar together. Add eggs one at a time; beat until fluffy. Stir in the anise and vanilla extracts. Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt; Add them to the egg mixture along with the chopped almonds. Stir with a spoon and as the dough comes together, Knead by hand.
    3. Divide the dough into 4 parts. Roll each piece into a log about 15 inches long. Place logs onto cookie sheets, 2 to a sheet, the long way. Flatten the logs out until they are about 3 inches wide with a slight hump going down the middle. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes in the preheated oven, loaves should be firm. Cut the loaves into diagonal slices 1/2 inch wide, place the slices onto the cookie sheets and return to the oven. Toast on one side, then turn them over to do the other side. This will take about 7 to 10 minutes.

    First, I didn’t use anise, I used 2 tsp. vanilla, and 1 tsp. almond extract. I don’t like anise, and vanilla and almond extracts work nicely together.

    I split the dough into 2 sections right after the kneading part, one section I used 1/2 pkg. Craisins and 1 of those tiny $1 pkgs. of slivered almonds. The other one I put 4 Tsp. of Cocoa Powder and 1/4 bag of milk chocolate chips. I mixed the ingredients in by hand, pretty much kneading them until they looked pretty, then split each kind into 2 loaves, and proceeded with the recipe as written. Well, I baked them for 5 minutes each side, but other than that followed as written. It was sooooo easy, I really suggest you try it!

    The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2008/12/18/easy-homemade-biscotti-recipe/trackback/

    RSS feed for comments on this post.

    2 CommentsLeave a comment

    1. Looks delish! I need to find some anise extract…I noticed that was an ingredient in another biscotti recipe I wanted to try. Thanks for sharing!

    2. The only thing I would use anise extract in is in another Italian cookie, called pizzelles. They are like waffles, but thinner. I still prefer the vanilla ones, but grew up on the the anise ones. Anise is a very strong flavor, similar to black licorice. Since I hate black licorice, I just can’t bring myself to use anise. It’s very popular in Italian baking, though, as you’ve noted.


    Leave a Reply

