Incredible Banana “Bread” Cake with Caramel Icing

Well, I haven’t had a whole lot to say lately, mostly because I haven’t had time, haven’t been home, and haven’t really been cooking, either…but I’m back (sort-of) and did my first baking since, well, I don’t remember when, lol.

It’s amazing how life gets you busy to the point that you aren’t able to do the things you enjoy anymore. And if things go in the direction that I think they are headed, well, you may not see a whole lot of me till mid-August or so, but for now I wanted to pop in and share my new favorite recipe with you…along with some pictures of it!

I adapted this recipe from my Aunt’s zucchini bread recipe, b/c my husband isn’t a big fan of zucchini, but loves banana bread. Then I simply found a yummy-sounding caramel icing recipe and topped it with that. So here’s the recipe:

Ann’s World Famous Zucchini Bread

3 eggs

1 c. oil

1 Tbl. vanilla

2 1/4 c. sugar

2 c. mashed bananas (about 4 or so?)

1/2 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. baking soda

3 c. flour

3/4 tsp. salt

1 Tbl. cinnamon

Beat eggs, sugar, oil and vanilla.Mash and add bananas. Batter will be thin. Add dry ingredients, mix well. Grease and flour pan. Bake 1 hr. at 325. Makes 1 bundt or 2 regular loaves. Remove from pan right away. Do Not Overcook!

Optional: 1 c. chopped nuts and 1 c. raisins, dried fruit, dates, cranberries, candied fruit, or chocolate chips.

Caramel Icing (optional)

1/4 c Packed brown sugar
1/4 c Sweetened condensed milk
2 tb Unsalted butter
1 c Confectioners’ sugar
1 ts Pure vanilla extract

Combine brown sugar and condensed milk in a small
saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring often, until mixture begins to
bubble. Reduce heat to low and add butter; cook and stir until melted.
Remove from the heat and stir in confectioners’ sugar and vanilla. Pour
over warm cake.

 Photobucket

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2008/07/29/incredible-banana-bread-cake-with-caramel-icing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hey,
    Its Pinkey2we. I Just Wanted to ask you to help me, I Need more hits on http://www.luhy.wordpress.com We used to get 100 hits a day and now were getting in the 50’s and below! I Really Need You Help so it would be great if you could add me to your blogroll. If You Do, Comment on http://www.luhy.wordpress.com that you did. If You Do add me Thanks So much!
    Thanks!
    -Pinkey2we :mrgreen:
    P.S.It Would Be Great if you Visited

  2. Hey great to see you back!! Missed you.
    That banana bread-cake looks awesome!! I love the caramel icing, it looks so yummy!
    Email me sometime, I’d love to catch up with you.
    Bye,

  3. Awww, thanks! I got busy with FRG stuff (co-chaired a picnic for 400-that was a trip!) and then we’ve had CAST and a bunch of other out-of-town activities, so the computer hasn’t gotten much of my attention lately. I’ll try to write you, but it probably won’t be until after the 15th! Hugs,
    Jess

  4. I’ve missed chatting with you. Email me or look me up on yahoo sometime if you want.

  5. What a pretty cake! Thanks for the recipe.
    I love your blog!

    ~Blessings,
    KeeperoftheHome
    (PH board)

  6. Glad you’re back!

    That looks delicious! I’ll have to visit again after I’m on my laptop and save that recipe. I’m guess you’d just use the same amount of zuccini in place of the banana if you wanted the original, right?

    • Yep. It’s a really thin batter, so don’t freak out, it’s even thinner when you use zuchinni, but it tastes YUMMY!

  7. I am slightly confused you have this listed as 2 things zucchinini bread but then it says cake? with carmael frosting so are u subbing banana for the squash?? Think I’ll wait on this one as the recipe seems to be a combo of 2 ideadas cake and bread i do not want the heaviness of the bread want the airiness of the cake so what is it???

    • It was originally a batter bread recipe for zucchini bread. I use it either as zucchini bread or banana bread, but this time I did it as a cake in a bundt pan. If you want a lighter cake, you might try sifting your flour multiple times. That usually makes things lighter.

  8. Hi,
    I am so happy I found this recipe. I made one similar to this years ago and lost the recipe. I will be taking this to my friends home this weekend. Hope it turns out well!
    Thanks,
    Carol


Leave a Reply

