Awesome Hamburger Buns!

Just ’cause I like makin’ y’all drool, I had to post a picture of the best homemade hamburger buns I’ve ever made (or tasted!)…thanks so much to my friend, V, who gave up the recipe! So tonight we had Grilled Cheesy Bacon Butter Burgers on homemade buns with lettuce, pickles, mustard, and mayo, bbq chips, and fresh sweet corn on the cob for dinner. I have pics of the buns and my burger, but I got too hungry to show you the rest, lol, so here they are:
Buns, fresh out of the oven:
Hamburger Buns

The building of a masterpiece:
Photobucket

And the finished burger:
Photobucket

 

Published in: on April 17, 2008 at 9:35 pm  Comments (13)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2008/04/17/awesome-hamburger-buns/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ok, I need this receipe!! I’ve wanted for a while to be able to make my own hamburger buns, I’ll need to tweak it a bit, I want whole wheat, not white.
    They look nice and fluffy, mine are often hard little rocks. So having a nice recipe to start with will make it easier to make WW buns with.
    (Sorry, bad grammar, shouldn’t end my sentences with dangling prepositions! Gasp!)

  2. Okay, here’s the recipe I used:
    V’s Hamburger Buns

    2 c warm water
    5 TB sugar
    1 1/2 TB yeast
    1 1/2 tsp salt
    1/4 c oil
    5-6 c flour
    beaten egg white
    1 TB water
    sesame seeds or dried onion flakes

    Combine the water, sugar, yeast, salt and oil. Add in flour until its a nice bread dough that doesn’t stick to the sides. Knead 10 minutes. Oil bowl and dough and let rise until doubled in size. Punch down and knead the air bubbles out. Divide into 12 pieces for hamburgers or 18 pieces for hot dogs or brats. Roll between hands into correct shapes. Place on greased cookie sheet for 20 minutes to let rise (hot dog rolls should be squished together so they rise UP and not just out) Carefully brush with mixture of egg white and water and sprinkle with seeds or flakes if desired (flakes are excellent for hamburgers) Bake at 400 for 20 minutes or until nicely browned. Let cool 5 minutes and then break apart and move to a cooling rack so the bottoms don’t get soggy. ENJOY!

    You’ll note I didn’t use the seeds on top, b/c my family doesn’t like them, but I did still use the egg wash, b/c it makes them pretty and shiny.

    Usually when trying to convert a white bread recipe to a whole wheat one, I start the first time making them white, the next time I do half white and half wheat flour, and then keep increasing the wheat flour each time I make it until I end up with rocks, so that I know how much wheat flour I can get away with without ruining the recipe. Also, I found this wheat bun recipe that seems to be popular (I’m pretty good at finding quality recipes to try-you’ll note that many of my first attempts at something turn out well and it’s because the Lord blessed me with an uncanny ability to find good recipes, lol.):
    http://www.recipezaar.com/258471
    And finally, if you haven’t done so yet, you might try using wheat gluten or wheat bread flour instead of regular wheat flour? The problem that develops “rocks” instead of a good risen bread with wheat versions is usually a lack of gluten, so it might be worth it to start buying wheat bread flour which contains more gluten. Also, I’ve heard that adding wheat germ to a recipe helps it rise better, though honestly, I don’t understand why. Hope this helps you get the results you are wanting!

  3. OMG, there’s those buns again. And your burgers make them look even BETTER!

  4. Ok I HAVE to make these!

  5. Oh and having a good mixer works as well, to help develope the glutten

  6. Oh, and just an FYI, I used the rest of these buns for bbq sandwiches, and they were perfect for that, too…held up much better than if we had used storebought ones.

  7. I grind my own wheat, I have Hard winter wheat, which tends to be a bit heavier than a spring soft wheat. I usually have to add gluten in order for the bread to raise properly. I’ve been grinding my won wheat and making 4 loaves of bread a week for about 20 years now, but I’ve never gotten an acceptable roll/bun recipe. I’ll try this one, thanks.
    We also do home made pizza each Friday for Movie and Pizza night at our house, a tradition we started when Bear deployed the first time back in 2003-2004.
    Do you use a Pampered Chef stone?

  8. Okay, well then you definately know what you are doin’ if you’re grindin’ the wheat yourself, I hope this recipe is your ticket to success, though!

  9. wow those look so good !

  10. I tried your recipe last night and my husband said that the buns were the best he has ever had. I split your recipe in half since this was a new recipe to me. I would make these buns again. Thanks!

  11. I made these tonight and they turned out GREAT!! Thank you for the recipe. I am going to post about it tomorrow on my blog. I will back link to you, everyone needs to know about these! thank you thank you 🙂

  12. hi there , i made buns using ur recipe. but instead of 5-6 cups i had to use more than 7 cups of all-purpose flour to make a nice dough using 2 cups of water using a standard meauring cup. with 6 cups the dough was on the watery side. Also i baked the buns at 400F but the outer crust was hard. kindly tell me how can i improve this? but the result was very good.

  13. hi there , i made buns using ur recipe. but instead of 5-6 cups i had to use more than 7 cups of all-purpose flour to make a nice dough using 2 cups of water using a standard meauring cup. with 6 cups the dough was on the watery side. Also i baked the buns at 400F but the outer crust was hard and the bun was soft but not fluffy. kindly tell me how can i improve this?


Leave a Reply

