Crunchy Chicken Tacos

As you’ll find, when my family is gone, my blog entries tend to get shorter and more freqent, so here’s a quick look onto my dinner plate this evening. I made myself chicken tacos. I seriously considered making deep fried chicken tacos, but I didn’t want to make the tortillas nor did I want to pull out the deep fryer, so this is what I ended up with. I took a small package of boneless skinless chicken, cubed it and browned in a skillet. Then I added spices (chili powder, cayenne pepper, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, pepper, and some chicken boullion) and 2 cups of water and let it simmer and reduce back down to just the chicken with no liquid left in the pan. This took me all of 10 minutes, and I was ready to assemble.

Everyone has their own way of creating a taco, but here’s mine (with the reasoning behind it):

I first secure the shells with two upside down large spoons. Putting these on either side of the taco shells support them so they don’t fall when I add ingredients to the inside.

Then, I add the meat to the shells. Immediately following the meat comes the cheese. I like some of the cheese to semi-melt and putting it directly onto the hot meat helps this happen.

Next, I add the lettuce. Lettuce tends to want to really fall out of the shells, so I press it into the cheese and meat so it is a bit more stable. Then I add salsa or taco sauce, b/c lettuce is bland, so it’s a good place to add some spice.

The final addition is always the sour cream because it can be spread over the lettuce to further stabilize the lettuce from falling out of the taco.

Making a taco for me is like a major construction project, lol. What’s really funny, though, is that after all that work, I let the chicken tacos set for a while b/c I like for the juices to run down and soak the bottom of the taco shell so it’s soft on bottom and crunchy on top. I like the texture variation. So, despite all my efforts, my tacos usually end up all over my plate because of the soggy bottom. Oh well, it sure tasted good!

Here are a couple photos of my dinner:

Photobucket
and the money shot:
Photobucket

Published in: on January 9, 2008 at 9:56 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2008/01/09/crunchy-chicken-tacos/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Those look great! I made some home made beef chimichangas and home made salsa last night that was heavenly. You can check out the pictures on my blog if you like. I moved my blog off blogspot and got my own domain and uploaded wordpress.

    http://dangerouslydeliciousrecipes.com/blog/?p=116

  2. This comment has been removed due to its offensive nature. This blogger takes serious offence to those that find the evil in everything. Every word and phrase has multiple meanings, let us not assume the worst, when perfectly innocent definitions are available.

  3. i used wraps and used crispy chicken strips with cheese lettus tomato and added rice and corn with a spicy ranch sauce and it was AMAZING and with wraps there is more of a vareity of flavors and their healthier not like it matters to me but just a heads up TRY THEM and heat the wraps in 2 light moistened paper towels for 12 sec in microwave


Leave a Reply

