Tator Tot Casserole, a Pictorial

Okay, this may not be one of the most visually appealing pictorials I’ve done this year, but it probably is one of the yummiest!

Tator tot casserole-Jessica style. Plain, simple, cheap, and filling. Just add a veggie on the side and you have yourself a great meal for the family. To me, tator tot casserole falls under the “comfort food” category.
Brown 1 lb-2 lbs of hamburger-depending on how meaty you like your casseroles.
Photobucket

Drain hamburger and add to a medium sized bowl. Add to this 2 cans of cream of whatever soup. We like one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken, but whatever sounds good at the time works:
Photobucket
Mix together thoroughly.

Pour mixture into a 9×13 pan (or if using 2 lbs of hamburger, a 9×15 works nicely).
Photobucket

Place frozen tator tots on top of the hamburger mixture, spreading evenly into ONE layer. Preheat oven to 350. Bake uncovered for 45 minutes or until the tots are golden brown on top like this:
Photobucket

Published in: on January 8, 2008 at 12:25 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2008/01/08/tator-tot-casserole-a-pictorial/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I LOVE Tater Tot Casserole! My mom used to make it all the time when we were kids! Yummy 🙂

  2. Oh Jess… Where’s the cheese? I always add grated cheese to the top of the tatertots! YUMMY!!!

    My family LOVES this recipe!

  3. This is one recipe I don’t add cheese to. I know many do, but I don’t like cheese and creamy together. Like one time I tried a breakfast at a truckstop that was a “skillet” breakfast that had eggs, potatoes, country gravy, sausage, and shredded cheese…I thought I was going to be sick. I thought b/c I love gravy and I love cheese that I would love them together, but I don’t. So my family gets this recipe sans cheese, lol.

  4. When I made this I did not have cream soups on hand so used a can of tomato soup and can of brown gravy (with 2lbs of hamburger), mixed all together, topped with grated Velveeta, and then with the tator tots. My husband and teenagers thought it was great.


Leave a Reply

