Baked Oatmeal….who knew it was actually good?

Okay, no one in my family growing up liked oatmeal very much, but when we did have it, it was the kind with that strange Quaker dude on it, so it wasn’t until recently when some friends were talking about how yummy baked oatmeal was that I actually tried making it.

You see, in our home, when it’s time for lunch, we try to eat together. When it’s time for dinner, EVERYONE eats together unless someone is seriously ill, but when it comes to breakfast, hubby eats at 5 am and I usually don’t get up until 9am, sometimes later, so eating breakfast together just doesn’t happen often. However, this year I wanted to have something easy that I could make for breakfast on Thanksgiving so everyone wasn’t starving by the time I got the turkey out of the oven, plus what other time of the year am I going to be up at 3am while hubby is still sleeping, right?

Thus the reason I tried baked oatmeal-it can be prepared the night before and baked while you are preheating your oven Thanksgiving morning! So I tried it and hubby requested that it become our new Thanksgiving breakfast meal from now on…and I thought I’d share the recipe with y’all:

Amish Baked Oatmeal 

1/3

cup butter
2 large eggs
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1 teaspoon nutmeg or cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons milk
3 cups oatmeal (regular or quick)

  1.  Melt butter. 2.  Grease 1 1/2 quart baking dish and drop in eggs and beat well. 3.  Add brown sugar, baking powder, vanilla, nutmeg or cinnamon, and salt. Mix well, no lumps. 4.  Whisk in butter and both measures of milk, then add oats. 5.  Stir well, and refrigerate overnight. 6.  Bake, uncovered, at 350 for 35-45 min, or until set in the middle.

  1. Serve hot with warm milk poured over.
Published in: on November 27, 2007 at 3:47 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2007/11/27/baked-oatmealwho-knew-it-was-actually-good/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh I have got to try this! THank you!
    Still looking for your tutuorial on bacon, eggs, and hashbrowns! Off to do some more looking. You have a great blog. Hope to have mine up and going soon!

  2. This sounds delicious! How much does it make? I’m guessing it serves about 6, is that right?

  3. It depends on how much your family eats. It makes a 9×13 pan, but it doesn’t go terribly high in the dish, so I’d say depending on appetites, between 4 and 6 people could be easily served with this meal.

  4. I made this this week (my recipe is a tad bit different) for the first time. It’s SO good! The nutty toasted oatmeal flavor, the soft squishy comfort food. . .a splash of milk over the top adds a creamy dimension that is right up there on my list with. . . (gasp) Chocolate!

    This just may be my new favorite food!

  5. I know, I did mine with milk, too…there’s something about warm crunchy oatmeal being softened by cold milk, isn’t there? Now that’s comfort food!

  6. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  7. served this hot oatmeal with fresh blueberries, and sliced fresh peaches on top…………tasty


Leave a Reply

