Bear with me, folks!

I know I haven’t made any updates for the last week or so, but that’s because I’m lost without my camera! It broke the other day and I had to call HP and get a replacement. It should be here in the next week or so, but until then, here’s a little update on us:

For the last two weeks, we’ve been studying Fruits in our cooking class, which has been interesting-to say the least. Last week, we made frozen banana pops (really yummy!) and tried some fruits that aren’t as familiar to us. We tried kiwi (one of my favorites, but so expensive that I hardly buy it!), mango, starfruit (a new one on both of us, and SOOOOOO good!), and something else, but I can’t quite remember what.  What was even cooler was that we had some leftover chocolate dip from the bananas and we tried each fruit dipped in the chocolate. Definately our favorite was the starfruit in the chocolate dip. It was honestly a heavenly flavor combo!

We didn’t like the fresh mango of course, so we cooked it with some brown sugar and cinnamon and butter on the stove and then it was delightful!

This week we made fruit dip with grapes and bananas (trying to be frugal this week so we limited our dipping fruits) and we learned about food allergies and some funky names for different foods that are considered major allergens like egg, milk, corn, and wheat. It was amazing what we found some of these in. An example: Did you know that Russel Stover’s Chocolates have an egg derivative in them? Weird. I tried to explain to K why it’s important to know about food allergens because as she grows up and starts cooking for other people more, she needs to know how to avoid sickening an allergic guest. It seems silly, but you never know when you’ll marry someone with a severe allergy or have kids with an allergy that is life threatening, and it’s important to know how to fix food for those with allergies, I think.

Next was the fruit dip. I really, really don’t like fruit dip, but I thought it was a good thing for her to learn (they’re handy for potlucks, baby and bridal showers) how to make. Bryan and I were both pleasantly suprised with this recipe, it was actually pretty good! It’s a simple one and I wish I could’ve gotten a pic for y’all b/c K colored it purple and it actually looked really pretty! Here’s the recipe:

2 Tbl. Brown Sugar

1 C. Vanilla yogurt

Food coloring as desired.

Mix and serve.

Last week we also did an interview with cooks (she chose me to interview) and she learned how I handled certain food cleanliness issues in my kitchen, which was pretty neat, and next week we start on Dairy, which will be even more fun!

Published in: on October 20, 2007 at 10:09 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2007/10/20/bear-with-me-folks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just wanted to let y’all know…the new camera is here, but now I need batteries, so it may be a few more days till I can get back on schedule with my picture blogging. Which is a shame b/c today we are making butter!

  2. I would like to see a continuation of the topic


Leave a Reply

