Yummy Loaded Baked Potato Soup

Okay, so I missed a lot of photos while we were working on the potato soup, sorry ’bout that. Hey, I TOLD you it was veggies this week, didn’t I? You didn’t think I would let her by with just zucchini muffins for a vegetable representative did you? Well, I didn’t, but then again, who says veggies can’t be yummy? I chose this particular recipe for Kaylea because it was something totally different than what she’s ever tasted and I was pretty confident she’d like the end result, not to mention she needs some serious knife skills work and I know potatoes are tough to learn to cut properly. Since this recipe called for uniform pieces of potato, I thought it would work her skills a little better than twice-baked potatoes or any other potato recipe I could think of, except for fries, which she’s made me with me before…I try to make the recipes something new and different to challenge her skills rather than things she’s already made a thousand times with me. Anyway, all that to say, I did catch a couple final pics of our bowls of cheesy potato soup, all dressed up and I thought I’d show you:

My bowl (Hey, don’t judge, I used to have dress this type of soup several times a day during those infamous waitressing days…):

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And K’s bowl…she skipped the onions, but I don’t mind, b/c SHE had to chop them, lol.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

OUTBACK STEAKHOUSE LOADED BAKED

POTATO SOUP (Copycat Recipe)

5 or 6 large potatoes

1 can evaporated milk (12 ounce can)

1 lb. Velveeta Cheese, cubed

salt to taste

pepper to taste

garlic to taste

Garnish

Sour cream

Bacon bits

Shredded cheese

Green onion tops

Wash, peel, cut potatoes in small pieces.

 In medium size pot, barely cover

with water, boil until cooked,

 but still firm.

 Add milk and cheese.

 Cook on low,

 stirring constantly until cheese melts.

 Do not boil. Ladle into serving

bowls and add toppings of:

 sour cream, bacon bits,

shredded cheese,

 and green onion tops.

Published in: on October 7, 2007 at 8:41 pm  Comments (17)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2007/10/07/yummy-loaded-baked-potato-soup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I adore potato soup, and I think I will print this out to make for my boyfriend, who loves it more than I do.

  2. Oh this was one of the best soups I’ve had. Dh went to work and bragged it up. He was also very disappointed when he got home to learn we had eaten the leftovers for lunch. Definately a keeper recipe.

  3. So glad y’all enjoyed it, we thought it was sure nummy! We’re really not big soup people, so for us to like it, it HAS to be good!

  4. We made this for a party, and it was the hit of the party!! We made 4 pots and by the end of the night it was all gone. Awesome receipe, tastes great!!!

  5. Oh, I’m so glad your party-goers liked it! I love finding good recipes and sharing them with y’all!

  6. I’ve been looking for a loaded baked potato soup and came across your recipe. Is this soup real thick? Does it have enough liquid? It sure sounds both easy and good. Lisa

  7. This soup definately has enough liquid, and when hot is a medium thickness, like thicker than a broth soup, but not as thick as some cream soups. When the soup is cold it takes on a super-thick aspect kind of like when you refrigerate chili. Does that help explain it? Oh, and it is really easy…let us know how yours turns out!

  8. Do you drain the water after you boil the potatoes? Or do you just add the other ingredients to the potatoes and water?

  9. You just add them. I was kinda freaked out by that as well, but the recipe is correct, you keep the liquid from cooking the potatoes.

  10. How many does this serve?

  11. six maybe?

  12. Just made this It’s soooo good ! I added more cheese and used regular milk about a cup and half It turned out great !! thanks

  13. Oh, this looks wonderful. I am going to make it this weekend. Thank you so much for sharing it.

    Ani

    http://carolinalifestyles.wordpress.com/

  14. hi paula dean I just want you to know that me and my husband are big fans of your cooking show we were wanting to know whether you have a loaded baked potato recipe for the crockpot or any soup recipes for the crockpot

    your biggest fans
    heather and john

  15. you can email us at k.heather25@yahoo.com i would love to chat with you sometime

    heather

  16. PAULA, MY NAME IS SHELA AND I LOVE YOU AND YOUR COOKING SHOW, I WATCH IT EVERY DAY. I USE A LOT OF YOUR RECIPES AND THEY ARE AS GREAT AS YOU ! MY DREAM IS TO COOK WITH YOU ONE TIME, IF THIS COULD EVER HAPPEN PLEASE EMAIL ME. THANK YOU.

  17. OMG!! I LOVE this!!!! Actually the whole family loves this!! I make it all the time, and it never gets old!!! Sooooo yummy!!!!


Leave a Reply

