Paula Deen’s “Not yo’ Mama’s Banana Pudding Picture Tutorial

Not Yo’ Mama’s Banana Pudding Recipe:

What you’ll need:

2 bags Pepperidge Farm Chessmen cookies
6 to 8 bananas, sliced
2 cups milk
1 (5-ounce) box instant French vanilla pudding
1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
1 (12-ounce) container frozen whipped topping thawed, or equal amount sweetened whipped cream

First, Don’t forget to set out your ingredients, especially the cream cheese, as it needs to be softened and the whipped topping if it needs to thaw. Once this is done, you may proceed.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Peel and slice the bananas and set aside in a bowl.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Line the bottom of a 13 by 9 by 2-inch dish with 1 bag of cookies, there may be a couple left over, feel free to munch on a couple to tide you over.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Layer the bananas on top of the cookies in the pan.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

In a bowl, combine the milk and pudding mix and blend well using a handheld electric mixer.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Using another bowl, combine the cream cheese and condensed milk together and mix until smooth.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
When mixed, the cream cheese/condensed milk mixture should look something like this:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Add the whipped cream to the cream cheese mixture, but do not stir or use a mixer.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Fold the whipped topping into the cream cheese mixture (Use a rubber spatula to go around the edge of the bowl, gently pulling the cream cheese mixture up and over the whipped cream-The idea here is to not lose the fluffiness of the whipped topping, so stirring or mixing regularly won’t work as well).

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Add the pudding mixture to the cream cheese mixture and stir until well blended, still being gentle so as not to break down the fluffy cream cheese mixture.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

 Pour the mixture over the cookies and bananas, use a rubber spatula to smooth the mixture evenly over the bananas.

 Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

 Cover with the remaining cookies.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Cover with saran wrap and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Published in: on September 13, 2007 at 8:43 pm  Comments (14)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2007/09/13/paula-deens-not-yo-mamas-banana-pudding-picture-tutorial/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have had this with the cookies only on the top, not the bottom and it is still delicious!!!

  2. I made this with three layers spreading a thin layer of the cream cheese and pudding on each layer. Putting the bulk of the cream mix on the top before the third layer of cookies. And it’s rich and delicious

  3. I have made this and it is sooo good. I like it better than the traditional southern bananna pudding. The longer it sits the better and it is so pretty and yummy looking that it is the hit of any supper.
    Regina @skeeter creek

  4. I have made this recipe a dozen times and it is wonderful. I have made a slight change however, by putting shredded semi-sweet chocolate to the top instead of the Chessman. Wow!

  5. I have tried this recipe and I could not remember all what went in it. I had my family visit me from Pennsylvania and I remembered fixing this some time ago. Everybody loved it and I hope to fix it again. Glad that I could find it online.

  6. I”ve tried this recipe,it is so good

  7. All I can say is Y-U-M-M-Y this Tastes much better than the traditional recipe much richer.

  8. Oh I cannot wait to make this for Christmas. I’m hooked on this banana pudding the first time I had it this way was 02/2008. I never ate the traditional one!!!

  9. WOW! Oh My! I was at my husband’s family reunion and my cousin Cynthia made this DELICIOUS banana pudding that had a creamy, rich and unforgetable taste. Oh Me Oh My! Thanks cuz -no more traditional pudding is allowed in our home. EVER!

  10. I have been making this recipe for a few years now.. But instead of the chessmen cookies, I use vanilla wafers. I have not tried it with the chessmen cookies yet. It has been a hit!! People ask for the recipe, and I tell them, If I tell you what’s in it, I will have to “kill you”!! The best recipe ever!! Thanks Paula!!

  11. This banana pudding is sooooo good, Paula!!

  12. Excellent items from you, man. I have have in mind your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent. I actually like what you’ve obtained right here, really like what you are saying and the best way in which you assert it. You make it enjoyable and you continue to care for to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous site.

  13. Brought this to Easter dinner. Not one piece left. People were fighting to take a piece home. Loved this! I couldn’t find the 5 oz. box of pudding so I used to small boxes.

    • two*


Leave a Reply

