What to do with a whole pork loin…

There are several options for dealing with a whole pork loin, but there are 3 ways that are my favorites.

Preparation One: Trim fat, use a rub on it, cook it whole, low and slow in the oven. (325 degrees for about two hours for a 5 lb loin)

BTW, my roast rub is much simpler: garlic powder, onion soup mix or onion powder mixed with beef boullion, salt, pepper, italian seasoning…but I don’t use a specific recipe, thus the link above to another popular rub recipe.

Preparation Two: As a pork roast, often in combination with a beef roast, b/c they flavor each other nicely. Pretty much the same rub as above. I like to sear and then dry roast mine, but you can add a couple cups of broth or soup to the pan or toss the whole roast and veggies in a crockpot with liquid. Of course flavor with what sounds good. When making pork roast, I often go with the above mentioned spices plus celery seed, a touch of sage, parsley, and thyme.

Beef and pork roast, rubbed, seared and ready for the oven:

Ready to Roast Pork and Beef Roasts

Preparation Three: Boneless pork chops! I typically do these on the griddle or grill for a fast cooking method that gets dinner on the table quickly.

I’m going to get some more pictures together for each of these methods later, but for now, I’ll show you how to break it down for Prep Two and Prep Three:

Whole Pork Loin trimmed and cut in half for a roast:

Pork loin cut into roast

The other half sliced into thick-cut pork chops:

Raw Pork Chops

I put these chops on freezer paper on a cookie sheet to freeze them individually (so they don’t stick together when frozen), then once they were solidly frozen, I tossed them in a freezer bag, labeled them and put them back in the freezer for another day:

Ready to Freeze Pork Chops

Please don’t be intimidated with a whole pork loin, it’s really quite easy and very versatile. 10 minutes of prep and you’ve got the makings of several meals already!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2009/09/16/what-to-do-with-a-whole-pork-loin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I LOVE getting whole pork loins because you can get them for under $2 a lb. and they’re so versatile. I have a crockpot recipe that is great for a pork roast too. I’ll post it on my blog then post a link here. Actually, if you look at the Crockpotting for a Year blog (where she used the crockpot every day), she used my recipe too. :) It’s called Cranberry Pork Roast.

  2. OK – It’s posted.
    http://lifeonthesound.blogspot.com/2009/09/cranberry-pork-roast.html

  3. Thank you thank you thank you. I have been trying to figure out what to do with that huge pork loin that is in my freezer!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 403 other followers

