Amish White Bread Recipe and Pictures

So dsd is in her 2nd week of studying grains for the cooking class, and we attempted what some people would be horridly afraid of and yet happens to be a great passion of mine…homemade bread! Of course, as many of you know, my favorite “starter” recipe for bread is Amish White Bread, because of all the bread recipes I’ve tried (and I’ve tried more bread recipes than years I’ve spent on this earth-which would be almost 25 years for those who are counting), this recipe is the one almost foolproof recipe that I’ve found. It’s a very easy bread recipe, so I knew K could handle it for her first from-scratch (not out of a bread machine) bread.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 cups warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons active dry yeast
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 6 cups bread flour
  1. In a large bowl, dissolve the sugar in warm water, and then stir in yeast. Allow to proof until yeast resembles a creamy foam.
  2. Mix salt and oil into the yeast. Mix in flour one cup at a time. Knead dough on a lightly floured surface until smooth. Place in a well oiled bowl, and turn dough to coat. Cover with a damp cloth. Allow to rise until doubled in bulk, about 1 hour.
  3. Punch dough down. Knead for a few minutes, and divide in half. Shape into loaves, and place into two well oiled 9×5 inch loaf pans. Allow to rise for 30 minutes, or until dough has risen 1 inch above pans.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 30 minutes.

  This makes a sweet bread, but it’s quite tasty, if you haven’t made homemade bread (or every time you’ve tried it’s been a flop) give this recipe a shot.

This is the yeast, sugar, and water immediately after mixing it together.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Ten to fifteen minutes later, here’s the same mixture, only foamy as the yeast has come alive and grown from feeding on the sugar.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Here’s Little Miss measuring out her flour for the dough.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Somehow, she managed to talk me into doing a little mixing with her…sneaky, I tell ya, sneaky!
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I missed pictures of the kneading, as I had to do some major instruction in this area. I think she’s got it now, and in the meantime, here’s a pic of the dough covered in oil before it rose for the first time.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And here it sits with a warm damp towel over it while it begins to rise. Yes, the towel is clean, despite how the picture looks, lol.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Here’s how the dough looked after it’s first rising. K seemed amazed at how much it had grown!
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

This is the munchkin punching down the dough as instructed. (I think this was her favorite part, and one of my favorite pictures, hehe.)
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And here are the fully baked loaves of bread. Okay so one is a bit larger than the other, but other than that, they are pretty nice looking, don’tcha think?
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And here’s the “money shot” on one of the loaves.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

And finally, K cutting her bread…remember this loaf was still warm while being cut, so it was a little harder to cut, but she did pretty good. That warm bread went pretty quickly around here…we saved the other loaf for her to take to her other family to show them how well she did.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
What was YOUR first loaf of bread like?

Published in: on September 22, 2007 at 10:48 pm  Comments (21)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://homemadewithlove.wordpress.com/2007/09/22/amish-white-bread-recipe-and-pictures/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just love you blog Jess! I read every one and enjoy the pictures! Keep it up!

  2. Aww, thank you! I’m really having fun with it, and it reminds me to take more pictures, which is a great thing!

  3. I just want to say that I absolutely love your blog! I love the pics and the recipes and the JOY that you share. I linked it to my blog so I could share this wonderful blog with everyone!

  4. Oh wow, these pics made my mouth water! I would LOVE to have my bread turn out to that pretty fluffy consistency! You’re my new hero. lol. Love your blog

  5. LOL, I’m not the hero, I’m tellin’ ya, it’s the recipe! Seriously, if your bread doesn’t turn out 100% the way you want it to, try this recipe. It has been a lifesaver in high altitudes, humidity, and every other baking disaster you can imagine…it ALWAYS turns out. And if you want it shiny like mine, just brush an egg wash (one egg and a couple tablespoons water beaten together) on the bread before putting it in the oven. And don’t be afraid to let the dough rise longer than it says, I make breadmaking a day long process, I just go back and forth from the kitchen to doing other things and back again. It’s really easy with this recipe, I promise!

  6. Thank You so much for this recipe Jessica. It turned out great! Enjoying your blog.

  7. I don’t remember what my first loaf was, but I do remember several of them being bricks. 😀

    I am enjoying your blog. 🙂

  8. Applie,

    Thank you! I’m really enjoying blogging, I had gotten out of the habit for a long time, but I’m really happy to be back! Your blog is funny, too. I especially like the strange conversations y’all have!

    Blessings,
    Jess

  9. Wow! You are really an awesome cook, Jess! I am going to try several of your recipes..lol. Think I will start with the loaded potatoe soup..hehe.

  10. I love your blog, Jess! I am going to try some of your recipes. HCW might get a break now that I have your blog to read…

  11. Hi Jessie, I am new to your blog. I stumbled upon it looking for a blueberry muffin recipe. I am wanting to do more from scratch. I think the world should take a step back and lighten up on the technology a bit, that being said I have to admit I am a tech junkie, but I miss the simpler lifestyles and the closeness of families. We have 9 children and I just want to save some money and have something to pass on to them that will serve them better than my china pattern. Do you have a website or is it just this blog? How would I find you again? I am a candlemaker myself. I have a biz website where I sell candles for another company but I also do pretty well with my custom orders. I guess it all ties together, because I am also learning to knit and crochet (at 36) better late than never. LOL I am in the market for bread and muffin type recipes so if you have any dear to you please point me in the right direction.

    Thanks,
    Kathy

    Light My Fire Candle Creations
    http://www.soymakescents.com

  12. Kathy,

    I’ve been away from blogging (too busy with Army stuff), but will return to posting delicious recipes soon. In the meantime, you can find me at my soapmaking website listed above or at http://www.prairiehomemaker.com (the second one is a website exclusively for Christian women where we teach each other in the fashion of Titus 2-about cooking, cleaning, raising godly children, loving our husbands, etc., but you must be a Christian to join and it’s pretty highly moderated for your safety.
    In the meantime, keep checking back, I’ll be back soon with more great recipes!
    Blessings,
    Jess

  13. Thanks a TON! I am an amature(sp?)and have tried several different recipes and have failed until now. Thanks a TON this bread is DELISH!!!

  14. This is a wonderful bread recipe, and pretty idiot-proof, too (demonstrated that it has turned out wonderfully each time I’ve made it, including the first).

    Note that you can use this same recipe for wheat bread as well. I used a 50-50 split (3 cups each white and whole wheat flour) and even a 5:1 ration (5 cups whole wheat, with one cup white), and it’s turned out wonderfully. I’m at high altitude (>6000 ft), so I add an additional 1/4 cup water, and I keep an eye on the rising.

    Thanks again! ..bruce..

  15. Oh, this is such a great recipe! No wonder it is the highest rated/made bread recipe on allrecipes.com! I had my younger sister make this for her first yeast bread and it came out beautifully. =)

  16. This bread is so delicious! It is my first taste of home made bread ever. Id been wanting to make it for a long long time but was scared it would flop. Well no more, I can’t thank you enough for putting this on the website (with photos) hahaha – I had to keep checking them to make sure I was and it was going right.
    Again it is delicious, thank you so much. You have made not only me but many to come very happy. For now that I know how to make it, It will be made for many at Christmas.

  17. Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!!

    I’m Out! 🙂

  18. Hi

    I was told about your recipe from a friend who recommended this recipe.
    It is an awesome recipe, it is very similar to the recipe to how I make my yeast bread for fried bread.
    I love the way that you have done your blog, keep up with your good work.

  19. Wish me luck! I have never baked bread in my life…and my cakes…come from a box so we’ll see. I am want to make a loaf for Christmas Eve for my new husband and his kids…I think I’ll try this tonight to see how it comes out, even if I’ll be up late…who cares we’re talking fresh bread!

  20. This is by far my favorite bread recipe! It is so versatile (bread and butter, sandwiches, french toast) not to mention it makes terrific cinnamon or raisin bread! Thanks for including the note to proof the yeast. The original article menu that I had found did not mention this and my bread turned out so so. I really liked the simplicity of the recipe though and wanted to try again when I discovered the proofing thing…haven’t had a bad loaf since!

  21. It’s fantastic that you are getting ideas from this article as well as
    from our argument made here.


Leave a comment